Switching to a gluten-free diet is a big change and, like anything new, it takes some getting used to. You may initially feel deprived by the diet’s restrictions. However, try to stay positive and focus on all the foods you can eat.
- PRODUCE All fresh fruit, All fresh vegetables, Fresh herbs and spices
- GRAINS, SEEDS, STARCHES & Flours Quinoa, Rice, Buckwheat, Chickpeas, Flax, seeds in their natural, unprocessed form, Cornstarch, Potato starch, Amaranth, Arrowroot, Corn, Hominy & Cornmeal, Gluten-free flours (rice, soy, corn, potato, bean), Millet, Sorghum, Soy, Tapioca and Teff.
- NUTS AND BEANS Dried beans and pea & Plain nuts, all in their natural, unprocessed forms
- MEAT AND FISH All fresh beef and poultry, All fish & shellfish (not breaded, batter-coated or marinated).
- FROZEN FOODS Plain frozen fruits and vegetables
- REFRIGERATOR SECTION Most dairy products
One of the hardest things about having celiac disease or gluten allergies is learning what you can and cannot eat. Below, I am sharing a list of resources that I’ve compiled over time of different companies that are gluten-free or have a gluten-free product line. Companies tend to change their ingredients from time to time so the safest option is to always read the food labels.