Gluten-Free Basics: What to Eat & What to Avoid

www.kerrichronicles.comALLOWED FOODS

  • PRODUCE All fresh fruit, All fresh vegetables, Fresh herbs and spices
  • GRAINS, SEEDS, STARCHES & Flours Quinoa, Rice, Buckwheat, Chickpeas, Flax, seeds in their natural, unprocessed form, Cornstarch, Potato starch, Amaranth, Arrowroot, Corn, Hominy & Cornmeal, Gluten-free flours (rice, soy, corn, potato, bean), Millet, Sorghum, Soy, Tapioca and Teff.
  • NUTS AND BEANS Dried beans and pea & Plain nuts, all in their natural, unprocessed forms
  • MEAT AND FISH All fresh beef and poultry, All fish & shellfish (not breaded, batter-coated or marinated).
  • FROZEN FOODS Plain frozen fruits and vegetables
  • REFRIGERATOR SECTION Most dairy products

Avoid all food and drinks containing:

  • Barley (malt, malt flavoring and malt vinegar are usually made from barley)
  • Rye
  • Triticale (a cross between wheat and rye)
  • Wheat (Types: Bromated, Enriched, Phosphated, Plain and Self-Rising) Also avoid: Bulgur, Durum Flour, Farina, Graham flour, Kamut, Semolina, Spelt

Avoid unless labeled ‘gluten-free’
In general, avoid the following foods unless they’re labeled as gluten-free or made with corn, rice, soy or other gluten-free grain:

  • Beer
  • Breads
  • Cakes and pies
  • Candies
  • Cereals
  • Cookies and crackers
  • Croutons
  • French fries
  • Gravies
  • Imitation meat or seafood
  • Matzo
  • Pastas
  • Processed luncheon meats
  • Salad dressings
  • Sauces, including soy sauce
  • Seasoned rice mixes
  • Seasoned snack foods, such as potato and tortilla chips
  • Self-basting poultry
  • Soups and soup bases
  • Vegetables in sauce

Certain grains, such as oats, can be contaminated with wheat during growing and processing stages of production. For this reason, doctors and dietitians generally recommend avoiding oats unless they are specifically labeled gluten-free.

You should also be alert for other products that you eat or that could come in contact with your mouth that may contain gluten. These include:

  • Food additives, such as malt flavoring, modified food starch and others
  • Medications and vitamins that use gluten as a binding agent
  • Play dough

Not getting enough vitamins. People who follow a gluten-free diet may have low levels of certain vitamins and nutrients in their diets. Many grains are enriched with vitamins. Avoiding grains with a gluten-free diet may mean eating fewer of these enriched products. Ask your dietitian to review your diet to see that you’re getting enough of these key nutrients:

  • Iron
  • Calcium
  • Fiber
  • Thiamin
  • Riboflavin
  • Niacin
  • Folate

Why hello, friend! Thanks for sharing your comments. Should you have a question, please feel free to ask it here and I'll do my best to reply promptly. Thanks for stopping by! xo Kerri